

# **GamiFIN Conference 2022**

## Proceedings of

#### the 6th International GamiFIN Conference

Tampere, Finland, April 26-29, 2022 (Organized as an online conference)

Edited by

Mila Bujić

Jonna Koivisto

Juho Hamari

Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland

GamiFIN 2022

Proceedings

This volume of CEUR-WS Proceedings contains 15 papers presented at the 6th International GamiFIN Conference (GamiFIN 2022). The conference was held as an online conference on April 26-29, 2022.

Copyright © 2022 for the individual papers by the papers' authors. Copying permitted only for private and academic purposes. This volume is published and copyrighted by its editors.

#### **Preface**

The GamiFIN conference is an annual international academic conference on gamification with rigorous double-blind international peer-review practices. The conference brings together a community of researchers and practitioner to present results from their latest work regarding the gamification.

The sixth international GamiFIN conference was organized by the Gamification Group from Tampere University, Finland and took place on April 26-29, 2022. Due to the persisting extraordinary circumstances when international travel is not advised, the conference was held online. GamiFIN 2022 was chaired by the professor of Gamification Juho Hamari and gamification scholar Jonna Koivisto.

GamiFIN 2022 featured six prominent scholars in the field as keynotes. During the two main days of the conference, when full papers were presented, GamiFIN 2022 hosted talks by Professor Anton Nijholt (University of Twente, Netherlands), Associate Professor Rita Orji (Dalhousie University, Canada), and Professor Vered Pnueli (Shenkar, Israel). Additionally, as part of the GamiFOREST: A UNITE Symposium, keynotes on the last day of the conference were delivered by Associate Professor Alenda Y. Chang (University of California, Santa Barbara), Professor Klaus Eisenack (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany), and Senior Lecturer Chris Sandbrook (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom).

GamiFIN 2022 included four academic full paper sessions across two thematic days: Education and science, and Design and Sustainability. The program structure was based on the areas of the presented papers. We are proud to have had full paper authors presenting from Austria, Brazil, Finland, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, South Africa, and Sweden. The international program committee of the conference consisted of experts on various fields related to gamification. The acceptance rate for submissions was 44.1 %.

Apart from the full paper sessions, GamiFIN 2022 hosted following events: a doctoral consortium with three international doctoral candidates and an expert panel of academic supervisors, two poster sessions with a total of eight presentations of works-in-progress, three workshops, and finally the GamiFOREST: A UNITE Symposium. GamiFOREST was hosted in collaboration and as a part of the Academy of Finland Flagship competence center <a href="UNITE-Forest-Human-Machine-Interplay">UNITE-Forest-Human-Machine-Interplay</a>. It featured extended abstracts dedicated to the exploration of the role of gamification and playful technologies in mediating the human experience of forest areas and of nature in general. Altogether the conference was attended by approximately 80 participants.

The GamiFIN 2022 Best Paper award was presented to Nikoletta Zampeta Legaki, Daniel Fernández Galeote and Juho Hamari for their paper "The impact of different gamification types in the context of data literacy: An online experiment". The GamiFIN 2022 Best Presentation award was presented to Georgina Guillén M., Daniel Fernández Galeote, Nevena Sicevic, Juho Hamari, and Jaco Quist for "Gamified apps for sustainable consumption: A systematic review ". Moreover, the Best Presentation award at this year's GamiFOREST was presented to Marketa Dolejsova, Andrea Botero, Jaz Hee-Jeong Choi and Cristina Ampatzidou for their extended abstract "Walking

in the open forest: Playing with stories and data". Best paper was selected by a panel from the conference programme committee whereas presentations were selected by participants' votes during the conference.

As a continuation of the GamiFIN conference series, GamiFIN 2023 will be held in Finland. The exact dates and location will be announced during summer 2022.

April 2022

Mila Bujić

Jonna Koivisto

Juho Hamari

# Organizing Committee of GamiFIN 2022

# **Conference Chairs** Juho Hamari Jonna Koivisto Organizing Chair Georgina Guillen-Hanson Maria Törhönen **Doctoral Consortium Chairs** Juho Hamari Mattia Thibault **Proceeding Chair** Mila Bujić Online Conference Technical Organization Ana Tomé Klock **Conference Assistants** Bojan Kerouš Diffie Bosman Joseph Macey Laura Cosio Nevena Sićević Oğuz Turan Buruk Prajwal Dsouza Velvet Spors Zampeta Nikoletta Legaki

### **Program Committee**

Ali Sunyaev, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Amon Rapp, Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy

Athanasios Mazarakis, University of Kiel, Germany

Benedikt Morschheuser, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany

Fiona Nah, Missouri University of Science and Technology, United States

J. Tuomas Harviainen, Tampere University, Finland

Juho Hamari, University of Turku, Finland

Kristian Kiili, Tampere University, Finland

Mattia Thibault, Tampere University, Finland

Mila Bujić, Tampere University, Finland

Oğuz Turan Buruk, Tampere University, Finland

Vivian Hsueh Hua Chen, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Sylvester Arnab, Coventry University, United Kingdom

Welf H. Weiger, Alfaisal University, Saudi Arabia

#### Reviewers of the academic papers

Agnessa Spanellis Laura Diana Cosio Sascha Rank

Ana Carolina Tomé Klock Lewen Wei Shanshan Hu

Andreas Halbig Luca Morini Simo Järvelä

Annique Smith Manuel Ninaus Simon Warsinsky

Antero Lindstedt Marc Riar Steve Nebel

Antti Koskinen Margarida Morais Marques Timo Nummenmaa

Arvin Jagayat Marigo Raftopoulos Tobias Wolf

Bianca Borca Michael Kickmeier-Rust Weiyu Wang

Chibuike Uzoechina Mikko Rajanen Velvet Spors

Daniel Fernandez Galeote Monica Fallon Wilk Oliveira

Daniel Villar Onrubia Murat Ekici Ville Kankainen

Eetu Wallius Nannan Xi Yalin Wang

Elisa Wiik Narmeen Marji

Elpida Bampouni Nicola Whitton

Guo Freeman Nikoletta Zampeta Legaki

Isabella Aura Paula Bräuer

Jared Kutzin Peijun Hou

Jeanine Krath Petros Lameras

Johann Giertz Philip Chambers

Jon Chamberlain Philip Weber

Joseph Macey Samuli Laato