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Digital Marketing Strategy Template Guide

This document outlines a template for creating a digital marketing strategic plan, consisting of six key sections: executive summary, digital marketing audit, market research and analysis, marketing objectives and KPIs, digital marketing campaign plans, and analytics and optimization plan. It emphasizes the importance of gathering data from established companies with prior digital marketing experience and includes detailed guidance on conducting audits, market analysis, and developing customer personas. The document also provides frameworks for setting marketing objectives and KPIs, as well as planning and optimizing digital marketing campaigns.
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0% found this document useful (0 votes)
31 views23 pages

Digital Marketing Strategy Template Guide

This document outlines a template for creating a digital marketing strategic plan, consisting of six key sections: executive summary, digital marketing audit, market research and analysis, marketing objectives and KPIs, digital marketing campaign plans, and analytics and optimization plan. It emphasizes the importance of gathering data from established companies with prior digital marketing experience and includes detailed guidance on conducting audits, market analysis, and developing customer personas. The document also provides frameworks for setting marketing objectives and KPIs, as well as planning and optimizing digital marketing campaigns.
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd

How to Use This Template?

To work on this template, you will need to retrieve digital marketing analytics data from an established company who has
been running digital marketing campaigns for at least one year.

There are 6 sections in this digital marketing strategic plan:

1. Executive summary
2. Digital marketing audit
3. Market research and analysis
4. Marketing objectives and KPIs
5. Digital marketing campaign plans
6. Digital marketing analytics and optimisation plan

The executive summary is to be completed after sections 2 – 6 have been completed. In section 5, select at least 2 digital
marketing channels to develop campaign plans on.

1
Table of Contents
1. Executive Summary 4
2. Digital Marketing Audit 5
2.1. Audit of Available Resources 5
2.2. Audit of Current Performance of Digital Channels 6
3. Market Research and Analysis 9
3.1. Customer Personas 9
3.2. Market Analysis (Digital) 11
3.3. Competitive Benchmarking 11
3.4. SWOT Analysis 13
4. Marketing Objectives and SMART KPIs 14
5. Digital Marketing Campaign Plan 15
5.1. Customer Journey Map 18
5.2. SEO Plan 19
5.3. Digital Advertising Plan 19
5.4. Social Media Plan 19
5.5. Content Marketing Plan 19
5.6. Other Marketing Plans 19
6. Digital Marketing Analytics and Optimisation Plan 20
6.1. UTM Tracking Organisation 20
6.2. Custom KPI Dashboard Creation 20
6.3. Optimisation Plan 21
6.3.1. Website user journey and digital experience 21
6.3.2. SEO 21
6.3.3. Social Media Marketing (SMM) 22
6.3.4. Digital Advertising 23
6.3.5. Content Marketing 24

2
1. Executive Summary
[Text here]

3
2. Digital Marketing Audit
What is a digital marketing audit?

A digital marketing audit is an examination of the performance of digital channels and current resources utilised to achieve
a business’s marketing objectives, with the goal of reassessing and improving the existing strategies.

It consists of 2 parts:
1. Audit of available resources
2. Audit of current performance of digital channels

2.1. Audit of Available Resources


A digital marketing resource audit can help you identify gaps which may hinder your campaigns’ success. Once you have
identified crucial gaps, you can then recommend steps to rectify any issues.

Resources Checklist Summary of findings and notes for


improvement

Human Resource Capability ☐ Sufficient employees to execute [List all human resources e.g. Marketing
digital marketing strategies Manager x 2, Marketing Executive x 6,
Content Writers x 2, SEO Specialist x 1, Digital
☐ Marketing personnel are competent in
Marketing Analyst x 1, etc.]
their job functions and assigned tasks

External Agencies/Consultants ☐ External agencies/consultants have [List all marketing agencies and their
the relevant required competencies respective roles]

Website ☐ Website is user-friendly and [Enter website URL here]


well-designed to serve its intended
purposes (e.g. as a lead generation tool,
branding, content hub, etc.)

Tools and platforms ☐ Tools and platforms are well-utilised, [List all existing tools e.g. Google Search
performing to expectations Console, Google Analytics, Buffer, Semrush,
☐ Tools and platforms are able to meet BuzzSumo, Infusionsoft, MailChimp, etc.]
organisational requirements
☐ Sufficient budget is allocated to
necessary tools and platforms

4
Brand and Online Reputation ☐ Brand has presence on social media [List social media assets e.g. Facebook Page,
platforms where target audiences are Instagram Business account, YouTube, etc.]
present
☐ Brand messaging is consistent

Budget ☐ Budget is sufficient to execute digital [Enter marketing budget here]


marketing plan

2.2. Audit of Current Performance of Digital Channels


An audit of the current performance of various digital channels can help you determine which campaigns are the
better-performing ones. This can help you direct your focus to the appropriate marketing campaigns/channels.

For example, if the conversion rate of a particular marketing campaign is determined, we can use it to predict the
profitability of the marketing campaign, set appropriate budgets and allocate the necessary resources to boost return on
investment.

The table below provides a guide on the definition of the terms used and where you can retrieve the information from.

Terms Definition Where can you get this information?


Channel According to Google Analytics, a channel Web analytics platforms such as Google
is a group of traffic sources (e.g. Google, Analytics
Bing, Yahoo) within the same medium
(e.g. organic). Therefore, ‘organic search’
would be the channel which could include
traffic sources within the same medium
such as Google, Bing, Yahoo. Other
examples of channels include:
● Paid Search
● Social
● Display
● Email
● Direct
● Referral
Traffic A metric which measures the total Web analytics platforms such as Google
number of visits to a website. Analytics

Conversions A metric which measures the number of Web analytics platforms such as Google
important actions taken by a website user. Analytics.
Examples of important actions include
filling out a contact form, spending X In Google Analytics, you can set up goal
amount of time on a website, watching a tracking to define your conversion actions.
video till the end, and completing a
purchase on a website.
Conversion Rate A metric expressed as a percentage, Web analytics platforms such as Google
calculated by dividing the total number of Analytics
users who took an important action by the
total number of users who visited a
website.
5
Example calculation:

Total number of users: 100


Total number of important actions taken:
5
Conversion rate: 5/100 X 100 = 5%
Cost The total amount spent for a channel. This can be calculated internally within an
organisation.
Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) The total cost of acquiring a customer. Advertising platforms or calculated
internally within an organisation.
Example calculation:

Total $ spent for paid search: $10,000


Total number of customers acquired: 100
Cost per acquisition: $10,000/100 = $100
CPA
Value The total amount of revenue or profit This can be calculated internally within an
brought in by a channel. Formulas used organisation and reported within a digital
to calculate the average order value or marketing analytics platform such as
customer lifetime value varies from Google Analytics.
organisation to organisation.
In Google Analytics, you may set a goal
Example calculation: value i.e. $300 for every lead, assuming it
takes 10 leads to close one sale with a
Average order value/Customer lifetime customer lifetime value of $3,000.
value: $1000
Total number of completed purchases
from website: 1000
Value: $1000 x 1000 = $1,000,000
Return on Investment (ROI) The value gotten back for the total This can be calculated internally within an
expenditure of a channel, expressed as a organisation.
percentage.

(Value – Total amount spent) / Total


amount spent X 100% = ROI

Example calculation:

Total amount spent: $100,000


Value: $200,000
ROI: ($200,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 =
100%

Access your digital marketing analytics platform e.g. Google Analytics to retrieve the following data.

Conversion Cost Per Return on


Channel Traffic Conversions Cost Value
Rate Acquisition Investment

6
Summary of Findings:

7
3. Market Research and Analysis

The research and findings from this section will influence the next sections where you define your marketing objectives,
KPIs, select appropriate digital marketing channels, and plan your campaigns.

3.1. Customer Personas


You may develop as many customer personas as you see fit based on your business and industry. You can retrieve
demographic data from tools such as Google Analytics and Facebook Audience Insights. For a more detailed guide on
developing customer personas, check out our How to Develop Buyer Personas Ebook.

Customer Persona 1:

Profile Picture: Name:

Age:

Gender:

Location:

Interests:

[Add new field]:

[Add new field]:

[Add new field]:

[Add new field]:

[Add new field]:

[Add new field]:

Summary of Customer Persona 1:

8
Customer Persona 2:

Profile Picture: Name:

Age:

Gender:

Location:

Interests:

[Add new field]:

[Add new field]:

[Add new field]:

[Add new field]:

[Add new field]:

[Add new field]:

Summary of Customer Persona 2:

9
3.2. Market Analysis (Digital)
Market size:

Having an idea of the market size can help you estimate your reach potential, marketing budget amount required, and
determine appropriate marketing channels to reach your audiences.

Useful tools:
● Facebook Audience Insights
● Google Keyword Planner
● Research papers/reports on a national level

Summary of Findings:

Market trends:

Understanding the market trends can help you understand your customers better (in terms of consumer behaviour,
purchasing power, etc.), plan seasonal marketing campaigns, and select the right marketing channels, creatives, and
promotions.

Useful tools:
● Google Trends
● Google Keyword Planner
● Trends reports

Summary of Findings:

3.3. Competitive Benchmarking


Competitive benchmarking can measure your company’s performance against your competitors’ and industry benchmarks.
This can also help you to question your current modus operandi, adopt new practices, and develop innovative marketing
strategies to remain competitive.

Useful tools for competitive benchmarking:


● Google Analytics Benchmarking reports

10
● Semrush
● SimilarWeb
● SocialBakers
● Industry reports

Provide your research findings and rate each capability on a Likert scale of 1 – 5. 1 being the least capable and 5 being the
most capable in the table below.

Digital Marketing Review of Review of


Review of Company Industry Benchmarks
Capabilities Competitor 1 Competitor 2

Website engagement

Social media

Organic search

Paid search

Email

Referral

Display

[Add new benchmark]

[Add new benchmark]

[Add new benchmark]

[Add new benchmark]

11
[Add new benchmark]

Summary of findings and recommended strategies for market domination:

3.4. SWOT Analysis


Conducting a SWOT analysis on your company can provide you with insights on the strengths, weakness, opportunities
and threats in the market your company is competing in. By analysing your company and competitors’ SWOTs, you can
strategise how to amplify your strengths, diminish weaknesses, tap on lucrative opportunities, and mitigate threats. You
can then develop powerful strategies to remain relevant and competitive in the market.

Strengths Weaknesses

Opportunities Threats

Summary of findings and strategies to tackle these issues:

12
4. Marketing Objectives and SMART KPIs
Marketing objectives are goals that specify the intentions of the marketing department . Examples of marketing objectives
include:
● Amplifying brand awareness
● Lead generation
● Increasing sales

SMART KPIs are Specific, Measurable, Actionable, Realistic, Time-bound Key Performance Indicators that are more
detailed than your marketing objectives. They help you keep track of the progress of your marketing campaigns and
provide you with performance benchmarks to improve your efforts.

Marketing Objectives SMART KPIs

13
5. Digital Marketing Campaign Plan

What is a digital marketing campaign plan?

A digital marketing campaign is different from a digital marketing strategy. When talking about digital marketing strategy,
we are referring to a master plan or a blueprint to achieve a long-term or macro goal. Campaigns on the other hand are
the specific tactics used to achieve more micro, short-term goals within the digital marketing strategy.

In this section, you may map your digital marketing campaigns (tactics) to the ACPA (Awareness, Consideration, Purchase,
Advocacy) buying funnel. You may also use alternative funnels depending on your industry.

Awareness:

Tactics Human
KPIs Campaign Metrics Budget Timeline
(Details) Resource

Consideration:

14
Tactics Human
KPIs Campaign Metrics Budget Timeline
(Details) Resource

Purchase:

Tactics Human
KPIs Campaign Metrics Budget Timeline
(Details) Resource

15
Advocacy:

Tactics Human
KPIs Campaign Metrics Budget Timeline
(Details) Resource

16
5.1. Customer Journey Map
Map the overarching customer journey here (from marketing channels to website browsing, to conversions to advocacy
channels).

Use a tool like Funnelytics.io to illustrate the journey.

[Insert customer journey map illustration here]

Document the customer journey below:


17
5.2. SEO Plan
Access the SEO strategy and planning templates.

5.3. Digital Advertising Plan

5.4. Social Media Plan

Access the Social Media Marketing strategy and planning templates.

5.5. Content Marketing Plan


Access the Social Media Marketing strategy and planning templates.

5.6. Other Marketing Plans


Include other marketing strategies that are relevant to your business here such as:
● Facebook Advertising
● Google Ads
● Email Marketing
● Partners
● Affiliate Marketing
● Conversion Rate Optimisation

18
6. Digital Marketing Analytics and Optimisation Plan

In this section, you will create a digital marketing analytics and optimisation plan to improve your digital marketing
performance.

6.1. UTM Tracking Organisation


Use the UTM tracking template to organise all your tracking URLs in one place:

UTM Tracking Organiser:

[Insert link to UTM Tracking Organiser here]

6.2. Custom KPI Dashboard Creation


Create a custom dashboard with Google Analytics or an alternative digital marketing analytics software/platform and paste
the screenshot(s) below:

[Insert screenshot(s) here]

6.3. Optimisation Plan

6.3.1. Website user journey and digital experience


Analyse your website and offer any suggestions to improve the website’s conversions and conversion rates.

Optimal Performance Optimised? (Y / N) Recommendations for Improvement

19
Website is user-friendly (i.e. easy to N Propose a user-experience/conversion
navigate around. Information is easy to rate optimisation specialist to consult
find.) web design team and propose
improvement plans.

Conduct usability testing and reporting


to identify friction areas and improve UX
design.

6.3.2. SEO
Audit the SEO campaign metrics and offer suggestions for improvements.

Current SEO Metrics New SEO KPIs Recommendations for Improvement

Overall organic search engine click Increase overall organic search engine Optimise titles with target keywords
through rates at 10% click through rates from 10% to 12% closer to the front of the title.

Ensure organic search result snippet is


ultra-relevant to search queries.

Increase organic search engine rankings


by building more backlinks and domain
authority.

20
6.3.3. Social Media Marketing (SMM)
Audit the SMM campaign metrics and offer suggestions for improvements.

Current SMM Metrics New SMM KPIs Recommendations for Improvement

21
6.3.4. Digital Advertising
Audit the digital advertising campaign metrics and offer suggestions for improvements.

Current Digital Advertising Metrics New Digital Advertising KPIs Recommendations for Improvement

6.3.5. Content Marketing


Audit the content marketing campaign metrics and offer suggestions for improvements.

Current Content Marketing Metrics New Content Marketing KPIs Recommendations for Improvement

22
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